Thing 8: Calendar

1 Jul

Low tech calendar
Low tech calendar by Tee Poole via CC license on Flickr

Our lives are all so busy, not just our own schedules, but keeping of everyone in your family as well.  I moved to Google Calendar quite a few years ago, after recognising the value of being able to access my calendar from anywhere. Since then, my family has added their own schedules and now my calendar is a composite of many.  There is mine, my kids, my husbands and the events of my favourite groups, all together in the one interface.  My only problems was remembering to check it!.

As with many of our users, I now carry my calendar in my pocket too, so that I can check my schedule at any time, receive alerts for appointments that I might have otherwise forgotten and can share appointments with others as appropriate. I am an organised person generally, but I don’t know where I would be without my online calendar.

My library also utilises a Google calendar, to aggregate, display and share our calendars with our library clients in a number of different ways.

DISCOVER:

EXPLORE:

  • iCalendar,  often referred to as iCal, is an internet calendar format that enables users to create and share electronic calendars across different computers and devices.
  • There are tools like iCalShare that allow you to create a calendar of events that can be shared to different types of calendars.
  • Google Hangouts can be integrated into a Google calendar
  • See more links on our Pinterest board.

THINKING POINTS:

  • Are events advertised on your website with an option to download the calendar details?
  • Perhaps if your library hours have seasonal variations you could provide a Gmail calendar or iCal file of dates and hours that clients could import into their own calendar?
  • Study room bookings – could your library allow customers to import them directly into their own calendars?
  • Can your library clients sign up for a series of events (eg. a book club, early literacy story times, a technology course, etc.) and capture the details easily into their own calendars?
  • How else could your library utilise online calendars to share information?

CAPTION CONTEST

This week we thought we might have a bit of fun with a Flickr caption contest! Keep an eye out on the blog, Twitter, and Facebook page as we will put out the photo(s) for you to caption soon…

The winner gets bragging rights, so put your thinking caps on and may the best librarian win!

From Abigail: That fantastic introduction was written by @michellemclean. Keep an eye out for the weekly e-mail and the photo(s) for you to caption.

This post is a remix of 23mobilethings.net Thing 8.

5 Responses to “Thing 8: Calendar”

  1. Mae July 3, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    It might be my inner nerd or librarian in me, but oh, I love calendars!

  2. Kay Saunders July 4, 2013 at 3:57 am #

    Late last year a colleague showed me how to link my own phone (iPhone 3) to my Outlook calendar at work. This has been the best thing as I’m able to easily fit in my personal commitments with work. I always have my phone with me so it’s only one device to check what’s on.

  3. Robyn Collins (@robyncollins6) July 4, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Enjoyed checking out the range of calendar examples. Loved the Auckland Libraries version with the clever integration of events with promo of learning and support opportunities. Nicely done!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calendars on the go | Karen's 23 Mobile Things - July 8, 2013

    […] have enjoyed the past week of learning more about Calendar, Thing 8 of 23 Mobile […]

  2. Woche 8: Kalender | Ger 23 Mobile Things - August 12, 2013

    […] Beitrag ist ein Remix von 23mobilethings und anz23mobilethings – Thing […]

Leave a comment

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies for Educators

Glutey Girl

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Social Media & Politics

Views and comments on political social media

The Octopus Librarian

A curious, friendly, multi-tasking librarian with a tentacle in every pie

Kiwi Librarian

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Where the Rivers Meet the Sea

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Learn, do, teach…too

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

HLS

How would you Hack Library School?

Bonito Club

よろしくお願いします

There she goes

Bookgrrl's Blog!

FINDING HEROES

librarians who dare to do different

Catherine's Online Learning Journal

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

The world is quiet here

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

flexnib

Since 2005

ANZ 23 Mobile Things

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things