Weekly Wrap, Thing 17: Evernote and Zotero

13 Sep

Thing 17 was ably introduced by @dpgreen and was just the intro that I needed to revisit my Evernote and Zotero accounts. I have had them for a number of years, but (particularly the Zotero one) made an account, played for five minutes, and then forgot about them!

So, I downloaded the Evernote App, found my password details and had a play. (I also downloaded the standalone apps for Desktop to both my home MAC and work PC). I LOVE the syncing – it happens so seamlessly (once I set all of my settings correctly ;))

There is a lot of functionality in this thing that I am still learning – and at the moment I must admit that I tend to use the mobile interface (on my smartphone, not tablet) to grab info on the go (photo, audio etc.) and then process it or refer back to it using the desktop interface.  If I was using it on a tablet then this might be different, but the kind of information that I have been using it for seems easier to work with on a larger screen.

The mobile app has colour coded tabs to allow you to jump into Places, Tags, Notebooks or All Notes. It also has a very nice amount of storage via a free account (I actually have a Premium account which means that I have more storage and some extra functionality).

Zotero – again,  I downloaded the Desktop version, set up the syncing, and had a play with the mobile site. I then grabbed ‘PaperShip, by Shazino for iPhone to do a quick comparison.  As with Evernote, I can’t see myself doing much actual work on the smartphone – the mobile site required me to scroll across the screen, although Papership was a little prettier. I think that the mobile is more about having access to this information whenever I need it. But my feelings on this might change as I use more.

So, your thoughts? I couldn’t see much happening on twitter or Facebook…

2 Responses to “Weekly Wrap, Thing 17: Evernote and Zotero”

  1. Cath S September 20, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    I’m an EverNote user but this #thing encouraged me to check settings, see if I was using it to my best advantage (no) and generally make sure my tools were ‘sharp and ready for action”. Awesome.

  2. Penny September 21, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    A while ago I saw a blog post at http://www.alsc.ala.org/blog/2013/03/using-evernote-for-a-storytime-archive/ on keeping details of storytime plans and rhymes/songs using Evernote. This thing was the spur I needed to sign up and start inputting my session outlines and rhymes.

Leave a Reply

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies

melbrarian

LIBRARIANING, ART POUFFLE, SECOND LIFE AND MY ONGOING LOVE AFFAIR WITH MELBOURNE

Glutey Girl

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Social Media & Politics

Views and comments on political social media

The Octopus Librarian

A curious, friendly, multi-tasking librarian with a tentacle in every pie

Kiwi Librarian

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Where the Rivers Meet the Sea

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Learn, do, teach…too

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

hls

...how would you Hack Library School?

Bonito Club

よろしくお願いします

Audacious Fizz

12 months of exploring ideas

International Librarians Network

A meeting place for librarians from around the world.

There she goes

Bookgrrl's Blog!

FINDING HEROES

librarians who dare to do different

Catherine's Online Learning Journal

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

The world is quiet here

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

flexnib

Home Online

ANZ 23 Mobile Things

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

