All About Kate

1 May

Hi everybody, This is a hard post to write.  It seems I am not alone when I say I find it hard to write about myself.  But I shall give it a go.

Kate Freedman

This is me. With the family dog back in Perth, on my way to my cousin’s wedding.

My name is Kate and I am an academic librarian working in Melbourne, Australia.  I graduated with a Graduate Diploma in Information Science from Edith Cowan University in 2007 and did the Graduate Program at the State Library of Western Australia before switching to academic libraries.   Until 2010 I lived in Perth, Western Australia where I was born.

My background is in Retail and Information Management.  I have a Bachelor of Commerce Degree and a Post Graduate Diploma in Management Information Systems.   I also studied Fashion Buying and Design in London, so have come a long way to finding my niche in libraries.  But it all helps.  My retail skills help me deal with clients and stakeholders, and my Fashion buying class taught me how to predict trends and the power of conversation.  I also spent a year in Japan, and while I can no longer speak Japanese, it has made me more sensitive when helping people who have English as a second language, as I remember how hard it was to communicate there.

I consider myself a twitterholicinstagram addict and permanently attached to my computer, iPhone or iPad.  I am also an avid reader, home cook, knitter and crafter, and have been told by my friend to write how I knitted her a crab hat.  I am also addicted to CSI/NCIS style tv shows.

So how did I get involved with this program.  The short answer: Twitter.  I am currently the chair of the New Generation Advisory Committee, which is an ALIA advisory committee, and saw a tweet from Abigail how she was planning to run this in NZ through the New Professionals Network.  One of our (NGAC’s) current goals is to promote international collaboration  as well as professional development so here was this perfect idea.  I tweeted her back with the idea of a collaboration and the rest, as they say is history.

I do not consider myself an expert in these things at all.  I am doing this course myself to further my skills, and knowledge, even about the ‘Things’ in the program I feel I am an ‘expert’ at.  I have learnt so much already just from setting the course up.  For myself I am hoping to dedicate one evening a week to learning about each thing.  I then will probably play with it a bit more and hopefully even write the odd blog post or two about it on my blog.

I love being a librarian and the community, I feel, is an especially close one.   In organising this program with Abigail I am realising just how friendly and helpful it is.  If you are not part of your local ALIA or LIANZA group, please contact them and get involved.  It is a great way to meet people, find contacts and learn new things.  Also join Twitter.  Twitter has made me feel part of that community, especially when I moved interstate, so I would encourage everyone to try it.  This program would not be going ahead without twitter and the support from everyone on the platform so, thank you.

Lastly, if you want to know anything else about me, or ask me any questions I am always on twitter or leave a comment below.

This is also me, early on a Sunday morning before coffee, hence the dazed expression.

This is also me, early on a Sunday morning before coffee, hence the dazed expression.

14 Responses to “All About Kate”

  1. Claire Bushby May 1, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    Hello Kate, not sure if you’ll remember me but I was working at SLWA when you were doing the Grad Program. I was in the archives team. Nice to see you here and looking forward to taking part in 23 Things!

  2. Katejf May 1, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

    Hi Claire, great to see you (virtually) again. Thanks for being a part of this group, and great to have you on board.

  3. Corinne Hinton May 1, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Hi Claire, it might have been difficult to write, but it was easy and interesting to read.

    • Katejf May 1, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks Corinne – Kate

  4. Sabine Weber-Beard (@BeezilBeard) May 1, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    That is very interesting to read. I think we are all lucky that you and Abigail clicked so this came to be. Thank you for sharing.

    • Katejf May 1, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks Sabine- Abigail is so great and inspiring to work with.

  5. ajwillemse91 May 2, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    Fantastic post, Kate! It was fun and interesting to read and now I feel I know you a little better… Really enjoying organising this course with you – been a fantastic journey so far and I’ve already learned SOOO much!!! Keep on being awesome 😀

    • Katejf May 2, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      I am looking forward to your’s tomorrow 🙂

  6. Dorota May 2, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Kate fantastic to know that you are so much into library things!

  7. sharoncoSharon May 2, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Great post Kate, it can be tough, to talk about yourself, and you have done a great job. I’m looking forward to learning 23 new things 🙂

    • Katejf May 2, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      Thanks Sharon, the hardest moment was hitting the Publish button. I’m looking forward to learning as well, I have learnt so much already.

  8. luvviealex May 2, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Great post Kate. Well done. You’re right…the most scary thing is pressing the Publish button!

Leave a Reply

The Golden Age of Education

Highly Effective Tools and Strategies

melbrarian

LIBRARIANING, ART POUFFLE, SECOND LIFE AND MY ONGOING LOVE AFFAIR WITH MELBOURNE

Glutey Girl

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Social Media & Politics

Views and comments on political social media

The Octopus Librarian

A curious, friendly, multi-tasking librarian with a tentacle in every pie

kiwilibrarian.co.nz

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Where the Rivers Meet the Sea

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

Learn, do, teach…too

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

hls

...how would you Hack Library School?

Bonito Club

よろしくお願いします

Audacious Fizz

12 months of exploring ideas

International Librarians Network

A meeting place for librarians from around the world.

There she goes

Bookgrrl's Blog!

FINDING HEROES

librarians who dare to do different

Catherine's Online Learning Journal

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

The world is quiet here

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

flexnib

Home Online

ANZ 23 Mobile Things

A space for Australians and New Zealanders to learn the 23 Mobile Things

